Apple Home Collection 2026: Cameras, Locks and Thermostats Guide
Apple’s new Home Collection adds LG cameras, a video doorbell and smart lock, plus thermostats from LG and Schneider Electric. Here’s what’s known and when.

Image: Property of Apple Inc.
In this article
A new smart-home lineup
Apple has introduced Home Collection, a range of smart-home accessories developed with LG Electronics and Schneider Electric. Apple says setup begins with one tap on iPhone, controls live in the Home app and Siri, and there is no separate vendor app or account. Availability begins in December, with select products in early 2027.
This is an announced product family, not a store-ready catalog. Apple's October 13 announcement lists US pricing: cameras start at 399.95 USD, the Smart Deadbolt Lock at 349.95 USD, the Smart Thermostat at 199.95 USD, and sensors at 39.95 USD. Canadian pricing and availability remain unconfirmed, so US timing should not be treated as confirmation for Canada.
LG cameras and video doorbell
The four-camera lineup includes indoor and outdoor cameras, a floodlight camera and a video doorbell. Apple says the cameras capture up to 2.5K video and recognize people, familiar faces, pets, vehicles and packages. Event clips can be stored in iCloud+ with 10 days of video history, subject to supported plans and setup.
The video doorbell uses two cameras for separate views of visitors and packages. The indoor camera is designed to tilt away from the room when a household member returns, and can also be adjusted in the Home app. The floodlight camera pairs motion-triggered lights with low-light colour night vision, according to Apple.
Deadbolt and thermostats
The LG smart deadbolt combines a keypad lock with Apple Home control. Apple lists smart thermostats from LG and Schneider Electric, plus temperature sensors. The Schneider thermostat is intended to help manage home energy use, but Apple has not published pricing or quantified savings.
Privacy and home-hub requirements
Apple says Home Collection data is end-to-end encrypted in Apple Home, and that Apple and its partners cannot read Home app data. Cameras can use a home hub such as HomeView, HomePod, HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K. Apple Intelligence can provide automatic clip descriptions and natural-language search on eligible iCloud+ plans, according to the announcement. These are Apple’s stated design features, not an independent security audit.
What Canadian buyers should wait to learn
The lineup makes Apple Home the control point across cameras, a doorbell, a lock and climate devices, without a separate companion account. But key Canadian buying details remain unknown: local prices, exact launch dates, installation requirements and whether every accessory will arrive here at once.
Compare installation needs, cloud fees, local recording options and ecosystem compatibility before choosing a current smart-home product. Apple says its cameras use iCloud+ and do not need a separate camera subscription, but iCloud+ itself is paid. Until Canadian prices appear, this is an announced option to watch, not a fully priced alternative.
What the announced features actually change
The doorbell’s dual views are meant to separate the person at the door from a parcel left below it. That could make review easier than a single wide-angle image, but Apple has not published field-of-view measurements, resolution for each camera, local storage capacity or detection accuracy. Those details matter more than the headline feature list when comparing doorbells.
The indoor camera’s return-home privacy behavior is unusually explicit: Apple says it tilts away when the first household member returns. That is a physical movement, not just a software setting, but the release does not say how it behaves when household presence detection is unavailable or how long the transition takes. Buyers who need a camera to record continuously should confirm the operating modes before purchase.
Outdoor devices also need practical checks beyond app compatibility. A wired floodlight camera and a plug-in outdoor camera can have very different installation constraints. The announcement describes self-installation for the outdoor camera, but it does not specify cable length, weather-resistance ratings, power requirements or whether professional installation will be available. The deadbolt’s fit will depend on the door and existing hardware. Wait for complete installation guides rather than assuming that every product is a simple swap.
The iCloud+ trade-off
Apple’s announcement says cameras can record built-in footage when Wi-Fi is down and provide 10 days of event video history through iCloud+. It also describes Apple Intelligence-generated clip descriptions and natural-language search on eligible plans. The terms “eligible” and “supported” matter: Apple has not listed the iCloud+ tier required for each feature, the camera count supported per account, or any Canada-specific feature limits in the release.
There is no separate camera subscription, according to Apple, but that does not mean every feature is free. Buyers should compare the ongoing iCloud+ cost with rival camera services and account for the storage they already use. Ask whether recordings are available during an internet outage, how the camera stores footage locally, and what household members can access. Those are useful questions for any connected security device, regardless of brand.
Bottom line
Apple Home Collection is a serious expansion from speakers, streaming boxes and third-party compatibility into a more coordinated set of cameras, access control and climate accessories. Its appeal will depend on the complete product specifications, the Canadian price list and whether the launch calendar lines up across products. The privacy and one-app story is attractive to households already using Apple Home, while the lack of confirmed prices, exact dates and installation detail makes an early buying recommendation premature.
Source: Apple Newsroom, October 13, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
When will Apple Home Collection products be available?
Apple says availability begins in December 2026, with select accessories available in early 2027. It has not specified Canadian dates.
Does Apple Home Collection require a separate app?
Apple says setup begins with one tap on iPhone and products are managed through the Apple Home app, without a separate app or account.
How much will Apple Home Collection cost in Canada?
Apple's October 13 release lists US prices (cameras from 399.95 USD, lock 349.95 USD, thermostat 199.95 USD, sensors 39.95 USD), but Canadian pricing has not been announced.
Do the Apple Home cameras require a subscription?
Apple says video history uses supported iCloud+ plans and there is no separate camera subscription. iCloud+ itself is a paid service.